Election 2018 House New Jersey

Two of New Jersey's new Democratic House members voted for Nancy Pelosi to be the next speaker, but two others did not.

Democrats Andy Kim of the 3rd District and Tom Malinowski of the 7th District voted in favor of the California Democrat on Thursday.

Kim's vote for Pelosi comes after he earlier said he supported new leadership for the party. He ousted Republican Tom MacArthur in the southern New Jersey district.

Malinowski defeated Republican Leonard Lance. He had not said whether he'd back Pelosi.

Democratic Rep. Mikie Sherrill of the 11th District backed Rep. Cheri Bustos of Illinois, while Jeff Van Drew of the 2nd District voted present.

Pelosi was elected Thursday despite some dissenting votes.

The New Jersey delegation has 11 Democrats and one Republican after last year's election.

(Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


More From 105.7 The Hawk