New Jersey had already approved medicinal marijuana dispensaries in Bellmawr, Cranbury, Egg Harbor Township, Montclair, Secaucus, and Woodbridge. Now another six towns have been added to the list, bringing the total to a dozen across the state.

The new facilities will be located in: Atlantic City, Ewing, Paterson, Phillipsburg, Rahway, and Vineland.

The state received 146 applications for the six available licenses, and plan to meet with the companies selected early next year to work on a timeline for opening.

The new locations were added after patients complained about long lines and supply shortages at the original six dispensaries. The new additions will help the state's medicinal marijuana program, while the recreational marijuana bill is still being considered.

More from 105.7 the Hawk:

More From 105.7 The Hawk