Even though the Super Bowl was this past Sunday, Football isn't over yet!!!

Well...The NFL is done for the season, but this Saturday starts the inaugural season of the Alliance of American Football.

(Don't be confusedThis is NOT Vince McMahon's XFL)

Week 1 will debut Saturday at 8 p.m. ET on CBS. The San Diego Fleet will take on the San Antonio Commanders, and the Atlanta Legends will take on the Orlando Apollos. On Sunday, the Memphis Express take on the Birmingham Iron, and the Salt Lake Stallions face the Arizona Hotshots.

So what is the Alliance of American Football? According to their website:

The Alliance features eight teams, under a single entity structure, playing a 12-week season kicking-off February 9, on CBS and culminating with the championship game the weekend of April 26-28, 2019.

The teams are:

  • Arizona Hotshots
  • Atlanta Legends
  • Birmingham Iron
  • Memphis Express (Mike Singletary- Head Coach)
  • Orlando Apollos (Steve Spurrier- Head Coach)
  • Salt Lake Stallions
  • San Antonio Commanders
  • San Diego Fleet (Mike Martz- Head Coach)

The AAF is being labeled as "Authentic Pro Football", However, there are some rule changes:

  • There will be no kickoffs. Each team will start at their own 25-yard line, and there will be no extra points. Teams have to go for "two" after they score a touchdown
  • There will still be field goals, except in overtime.
  • The play clock will be thirty seconds (NFL is 45)
  • There is a "SkyJudge"- A ninth official sitting up in a press-box who is able to use real-time technology to correct clear errors involving player safety anytime during a game and pass interference inside of five minutes left in the fourth quarter.

Click HERE to see some of the notable former NFL players now playing in the AAF

More From 105.7 The Hawk