Metallica treated a small group of lucky New York City fans to a heavy, flawless performance of their new song "Moth Into Flame" and 13 other career-spanning tracks during a special intimate concert at Webster Hall last night.

The group also paid tribute to its late bass player Cliff Burton on the 30th anniversary of his death by performing one of his signature songs, the instrumental "Orion." When they were done, frontman James Hetfield pointed to the sky and said, "30 years ... We miss you, Cliff."

Because they were playing in such a relatively small venue, Metallica's 100-minute set was performed on a nearly bare stage, with only a few amps, featuring the latest version of the band's logo, replacing their normal high-tech arena stage setup. They also skipped their traditional introductory number, Ennio Morricone's "The Ecstasy of Gold," instead taking the stage without much fanfare and ripping right into a cover of Budgie's "Breadfan."

You can see the set list for the show below and a video of the band performing "Moth Into Flame" at the concert above.

Drummer Lars Ulrich noted that it has been 33 years since the group first played New York City, and told the crowed to look for Metallica to play "outdoors across the river" (presumably New Jersey's MetLife stadium) next summer.

Metallica's long-awaited new studio album, Hardwired ... to Self-Destruct, hits stores Nov. 18.

Metallica, Webster Hall New York City, 9/27/16, Set List

1. "Breadfan"
2. "Holier Than Thou"
3. "Harvester of Sorrow"
4. "Fade to Black"
5. "Moth Into Flame"
6. "Sad But True"
7. "Orion"
8. "One"
9. "Master of Puppets"
10. "For Whom the Bell Tolls"
11. "Enter Sandman"
12. "Whisky in the Jar"
13. "Hardwired"
14. "Seek and Destroy"

Metallica Albums Ranked Worst to Best

More From 105.7 The Hawk