Texting and Driving in New Jersey Will Cost You Big This Month
Texting and driving is never a good idea, but cops are taking it especially seriously this April.
Distracted driving is a major cause of New Jersey car accidents. Unfortunately, it's become more of an issue now that cell phones have pretty much turned into portable computers. Drivers often think there's no harm in checking their phones while at stoplights or stuck in traffic. However, that's just not the case.
I'm unsure why people even feel the need to hold their phones while driving when most cars offer hands-free options, like Apple Carplay. If a call or text is that important, and there isn't a hands-free way to take it, you can always pull over.
According to NJ.com, several towns will be cracking down on distracted driving violations this month with the U Text, U Drive, U Pay campaign. This program has been enforced in past years during April for Distracted Driving Awareness Month.
Per the article, you can be fined from $200-$400 for a first offense, and $800 and 3 points on your license for each subsequent one. Of course, these consequences will deter you from driving while distracted, but it's most important to avoid it altogether to keep everyone safe on the roads.
The NJ Division of Highway Safety's website explains that drivers won't only be pulled over for texting. They can also face tickets for other forms of distracted driving: like eating, drinking, using a phone, adjusting the radio, reading maps, using a navigation system, etc.
Stay safe while driving, not only in April but every day of the year. It's one road, and we all share it.