Get Out Of The Left Lane!
The NJ Assembly passed a bill on Monday that will DOUBLE the fines levied against left-lane hogs.
Motorists who cruise in the left or center lanes instead of using them to pass another vehicle would see fines increase from between $50 and $200 now to between $100 and $300. The bill calls for $50 from each violation going toward signs reminding motorists who enter New Jersey about the state’s stay-right law.
Most states call for slower traffic to stay to the right, but New Jersey is stricter about the practice. According to the state judiciary, 4,233 tickets were written for violations of the stay-right law in New Jersey in 2012.
New Jersey’s law is clear — a vehicle has to stay right except when overtaking another vehicle or preparing for a left turn.
“A driver who is not obeying this law can be aggravating, but it’s also unsafe to obstruct traffic flow,” said Assemblyman Gilbert “Whip” Wilson (D-Camden). “This bill is, quite simply, a public safety issue and common sense.”